Save the Date for the 2018 Emergency Medicine Forum!

Stay tuned for more information and registration!

2017 Emergency Medicine Forum

On May 2 and 3 in Columbus, the Ohio Chapter of ACEP held its 2017 Emergency Medicine Forum. Attending physicians, EM residents, medical students, and Ohio legislators gathered for two days of physician advocacy, leadership topics, medical education, and networking. If you weren’t able to join us, here’s what you missed!

Leadership Panel Moody SpeakingAt the “Faces of Physician Leadership” panel, five national leaders in emergency medicine—Drs. Jim Augustine, Paul Kivela, K. Kay Moody, Rebecca Parker, and moderator Ryan Stanton—fielded timely questions about how physicians can support residents, physician wellness, and taking leadership roles in healthcare.

StantonDr. Ryan Stanton, host of ACEP Frontline, then led an enlightening session on the opioid epidemic, “Pain-Free Prescribing: Trends in Opioid Use & Abuse.” Dr. Stanton’s powerful presentation focused on how the crisis has evolved, where it’s going, and how emergency physicians can lead the way in fighting it.  

EM Leadership Forum attendees gathered at the Ohio Statehouse for Morning Rounds & Coffee Grounds, a wonderful opportunity for emergency physicians to introduce themselves and network with their legislators over coffee. Ohio ACEP members spoke with legislators and their aides about emergency medicine and introduced themselves as valuable resources for healthcare issues.

Morning Rounds Baker Gavarone Mccrea Gardner HymelAlso at Morning Rounds & Coffee Grounds, Drs. Andy Little, Drew Kalnow, and Tanner Gronowski recorded a special EM Forum episode of their popular podcast, EM Over Easy!

Dr. Andrew Asimos presented the first clinical session of the Forum, “Game Changing Procedures in Stroke Management,” followed by Dr. K. Kay Moody’s empowering workshop, “Take Back Medicine: Healthier Doctors = Healthier Patients.”

At the Membership Luncheon, we were honored to be joined by guests from National ACEP: College President Dr. Rebecca Parker and President-Elect Dr. Paul Kivela, as well as Dr. Jim Augustine, who is also a Past President of Ohio ACEP. We were also honored to recognize thirteen Ohio ACEP Past Presidents at the luncheon:

James Augustine, MD, FACEP: 1994-1995
Eileen Baker, MD, FACEP: 2007-2009
Past PresidentsMark DeBard, MD, FACEP: 1990-1991
Thomas Hall, MD: 1982-1983
Mary Hancock, MD, FACEP: 2003-2005
Bruce Janiak, MD: 1979-1980
Nicholas Jouriles, MD, FACEP: 1997-1998
Gary Katz, MD, FACEP: 2009-2011
Brian Keaton, MD, FACEP: 1991-1992
David Keseg, MD, FACEP: 1998-1999
John Lyman, MD, FACEP: 2013-2015
Catherine Marco, MD, FACEP: 2006-2007
John McCabe, MD, FACEP: 1986-1987

Dr. McCrea then introduced the members of the new 2017-2018 Leadership Development Academy class, Christina Campana, DO; B. Bryan Graham, DO; Amy Raubenolt, MD, MPH, MEd; Tona Rios-Alba, MD; Jeffrey Ruwe, MD; Peter Toth, MD; and Matthew Vrobel, MD.

Afternoon highlights:

  • Drs. Paul Kivela and Michael Weinstock’s informative and engaging session, “Monster Claims: How Recognition of Medical Risks Can Make Patients Safer.”
  • Ohio ACEP Board Member Dr. Ryan Squier gave the Chapter membership an update on the NIX Opiates program, a unique campaign to bring emergency physicians to Ohio high schools to talk candidly with students and parents about the science of addiction and overdose.
  • Rep. Robert Sprague joined the Forum for “Advocacy & the EM Physician”, where he gave a briefing on Ohio’s efforts to fight the opioid epidemic and discussed how physicians can affect positive change in health policy.
  • Ohio ACEP Annual Awards
    • The Emergency Physician Advocacy Award went to Dr. Ryan Squier for his extraordinary community-based work to fight opioid abuse among Ohio teens through the NIX Opiates program.
    • Dr. Creagh Boulger received the Emergency Medicine Education Award for her outstanding ultrasound education at The Ohio State University Department of Emergency Medicine.
    • The Emergency Physician Leadership Award was presented to The Ohio State University Department of Emergency Medicine’s Dr. David Bahner for his innovation in ultrasound education.
    • Dr. Christopher Bazzoli was named 2017 Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year for his exemplary mentoring, clinical excellence, and commitment to the wellness of his fellow physicians-in-training.
    • Outgoing two-term Chapter President, Dr. Michael McCrea, was recognized with the Chapter’s highest honor, the Bill Hall Award for Service to Ohio Chapter ACEP

Award Mccrea Crop

Michael McCrea, MD, FACEP
Bill Hall Award for Service to Ohio ACEP

Award Squier And Family Crop

Ryan Squier, MD, FACEP
Emergency Physician Advocacy Award

Award Boulger Crop

Creagh Boulger, MD, FACEP
Emergency Medicine Education Award

Award Bahner Crop

David Bahner, MD, RDMS, FACEP
Emergency Physician Leadership Award

Award Bazzoli And Queen Crop

Christopher Bazzoli, MD
Outstanding EM Resident of the Year

Ohio ACEP would like to thank all the members, faculty, speakers, public officials, and physicians for turning out for the 2017 Emergency Medicine Forum—we are glad many of you were able to experience this special event!

And a special thanks also to all the exhibitors and sponsors for making the Emergency Medicine Forum possible, particularly our Premier Partner, West Virginia University Medicine!

Board of Directors and Councillor Elections

On May 3, in conjunction with the Emergency Medicine Forum in Columbus, Ohio ACEP held its annual elections for Board of Directors and ACEP Councillors.

Drs. John Queen and Brad Raetzke were reelected to the Board of Directors.

Reelected to the Board of Directors and as Councillors were Drs. John Lyman and Daniel Martin.

Drs. Eileen Baker, Dan Breece, Gary Katz, Michael McCrea, and Catherine Marco were reelected for two-year terms as Councillors to represent Ohio ACEP at the annual National ACEP Council meeting, and Dr. John Casey was elected to join the Ohio Council delegation.

Congratulations to these members!

For more photos from the Forum, Like us on Facebook and check out the photo album! And be sure to check out #EMForum17 on Twitter!

 Premier Sponsor

WVU Medicine Logo

2017 Event Exhibitors

Allergan USA, Inc.
Avita Health System
CIPROMS Medical Billing
Emergency Groups' Office
Emergency Medicine of Indiana
Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals
McKesson Business Performance Services
NES Health
Newsura Insurance Services, Inc.
Ohio Air National Guard
WPA Emergency Medicine Staffing, LLC
WVU Medicine 

For more Forum pictures, Like us on Facebook and check out the photo album!