

Date: February 20, 2020

Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award to Be Presented at Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly to Hannah R. Hughes, MD, MBA

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2020 *Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award* is **Hannah R. Hughes, MD, MBA**, an exceptional resident physician, clinician, and activist.

The Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award was established to recognize a resident of outstanding merit who exhibits exemplary clinical promise, leadership, and commitment to their patients and emergency medicine.

Dr. Hannah Hughes, a third-year resident at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center Emergency Medicine Residency, exemplifies the qualities this award was created to celebrate. She regularly demonstrates an unyielding dedication to education, increasing diversity, and quality patient care. Highly respected by the emergency department staff, Dr. Hughes has quickly gained the trust of her teammates, fellow residents, and faculty, who know they can rely on her elite clinical acumen, thoughtful medical care, and leadership.



Hannah Hughes, MD 2020 Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year

In addition to an impressive list of awards, scholarships, and leadership roles, Dr. Hughes is also the current President of the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA), the world's oldest and largest independent resident organization, which represents more than 16,000 emergency medicine residents, medical students, and fellows. In her role as EMRA President—and as an advocate more broadly—Dr. Hughes is passionate about advocating for diversity, promoting gender equity, and caring for the underserved. As President, she initiated a new leadership recruitment strategy which resulted in a 76% increase in female EMRA committee leaders and the most diverse EMRA Board of Directors in the organization's 45-year history.

In her letter nominating Dr. Hughes for Outstanding EM Resident of the Year, Dr. Elizabeth Leenellett (Associate Professor and Vice Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Cincinnati) praised her as remarkably humble and "the type of resident you hope to come across once in a lifetime." Describing her as the unifying voice for the residency and the glue that holds her class together, Dr. Leenellett says Dr. Hughes "is poised, articulate, and a role model for residents not only at [the University of Cincinnati] but across the country."

The Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Hughes on March 17, 2020, at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly. Ohio ACEP congratulates Dr. Hannah Hughes for her well-deserved accolade!

###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 45 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.