

Date: April 10, 2018

## Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award to Be Presented at Emergency Medicine Forum to Emile El-Shammaa, MD, FACEP

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2018 *Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award* is **Emile El-Shammaa, MD, FACEP**, a dedicated emergency physician and accomplished educator.

The Emergency Physician of the Year Award was created to recognize clinicians of unusual merit and celebrate physicians who encourage members to pursue the ideals of emergency medicine. Recipients of this award serve as outstanding physician role models, maintain high professional standards, provide high-quality care, and demonstrate dedication to emergency medicine.

Dr. Emile El-Shammaa, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, exemplifies each of these qualities. A highly respected clinician and educator, he has been tireless in educating his residents and students while also expanding his own breadth of knowledge. Dr. El-



Emile El-Shammaa, MD, FACEP 2018 Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year

Shammaa is held in high esteem by his medical students and residents. He was honored by his residents as Teacher of the Year in 2004 and Pediatric Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year in 1999, 2002, and 2007.

As an attending physician splitting his time between the OSU Wexner Medical Center and Nationwide Children's Hospital, Dr. El-Shammaa brings tremendous value to both organizations with his extensive expertise of both adult and pediatric emergency medicine, as well as a global knowledge of the specialty, having studied environmental emergency medicine, dive medicine, and toxicology in Queensland, Australia.

Dr. El-Shammaa was nominated as Emergency Physician of the Year by his two of his colleagues, Drs. Mark Angelos (Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, OSU Wexner Medical Center) and Nicholas Kman (Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, OSU Wexner Medical Center). In their letter, Drs. Angelos and Kman describe Dr. El-Shammaa as the "consummate, compassionate, and competent emergency physician."

The Emergency Medicine Physician of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. El-Shammaa on April 26, 2018, at the Ohio Emergency Medicine Forum in Columbus. Ohio ACEP congratulates Dr. Emile El-Shammaa for his well-earned honor!

###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 40 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally-recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.